top of page

SWCOLT Awards & Teacher of the Year

SWCOLT recognizes outstanding world language educators  and supporters of world language education in the Southwest region via the following categories: Friend of the Profession, Honorary Lifetime Member, Excellence in Teaching (Elementary, Secondary, Post-secondary). Each year, the nine states in the SWCOLT region submit a state Teacher of the Year candidate for consideration as SWCOLT Teacher of the Year. The SWCOLT Teacher of the Year for 2023 will be named at our conference in Salt Lake City on February 23-25.


Continue below to read about this year's SWCOLT Regional Teacher of the Year candidates (one from each of our nine member states) and our SWCOLT 2023 Award Winners. Be sure to peruse past honorees, the 2023 SWCOLT Teacher of the Year, Natalie Lalagos, the 2022 SWCOLT Teacher of the Year, William Lee of Texas, and the 2022 ACTFL Teacher of the Year from New Mexico, Heather Sweetser, as well!

Hawaii - Natalie Lalagos.jpg

2023 SWCOLT Regional Teacher of the Year Candidates

Oklahoma - Norma Jones.jpg
Nevada - Margarita De Leon Viera.jpg
New Mexico - Lucy Zollner.jpg
Utah - Laila Lamani.jpg
Colorado - Erin Austin.png
Arizona - Nalelly Morales.jpg
California - Susan Watson.jpg
Texas - Kristina Sedberry.PNG
2022 SWCOLT Teacher of the Year.jpeg
Heather Sweetser 2.JPG

2023 SWCOLT Award Winners


Friend of the Profession - Sydnee Dickson.jpg
bottom of page